Master of Horror

SEVENTY DOWN

I’ve just finished my 70th novel! Now number 71 is cooking, and almost halfway through.

To celebrate, on http://www.rebeccajvickery.com, one of my novels ‘O’Halloran’s Hell’ is being offered as a freebie. It’s a short really, of about 23,000 words. But it’s a good tale – at least, I think so, so I hope you’ll enjoy it.

Seems I just can’t stop writing. Where do my stories come from? I have no idea. They just appear in my imagination, right out of nowhere, and once I have a title or a character or the inkling of a plot to go on, away we sail.

I guess that’s the way it happens with writers: I wonder if James Hadley Chase or Edgar Rice Borroughs ever saw their stories approaching, or did that idea or thought simply leap out of the bushes and take them in a surprise ambush, as do mine?

If there is a life hereafter, and should I be lucky enough to wind up where they are, I shall get around to asking them. It’s just a pity that, having spoken to them and learned the answer to my question, I don’t think I can relay it back to you.

But I shall hold onto that thought, shove it in the back of my memory, and when the time is right, trot it out and settle my curiosity.

Adrian Scott 

Leave a Reply

